Railroad Bridge Over the Grand River

This is a gem of a bridge I discovered on one of my frequent random walks through Grand Rapids.  It is mere blocks from heavy pedestrian traffic–close enough to stumble upon, but far enough away to seem forgotten.

IMG_6752

IMG_6745-2

IMG_6757

About atomsofthought
Teacher. Traveler. Writer. Reader.

4 Responses to Railroad Bridge Over the Grand River

  1. These are nice shots, mellow wood and rust. And I like trains and old RR bridges. Since I am incapable of grasping physics or engineering, I enjoy looking all the beams and struts as just a pleasing geometric design.

    • Thank you, Robert! I don’t have a very detailed understanding of the engineering either, but it is something to marvel at, especially considering how old many of these bridges are.

  2. Reminds me of the movie Stand by me 🙂

Leave a Reply

